Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic Perinatal Education

Login Signup

Alert

9/16/20: Mayo Clinic’s Perinatal Education Program is still here for you providing education and support during this unprecedented time with in-person classes, virtual-interactive live classroom offerings on Zoom, and online eClass options. We are taking every precaution to ensure that the health and safety of our class participants and educators remain a top priority. New safety measures will be in place for in-person classes that include reduced class sizes, room arrangement that supports safe distancing, health screening of participants, and a requirement for everyone to wear a mask through the duration of the class. If you are currently registered for a class you will be contacted with further information. We will continue to offer the four eClasses available online if you choose not to take in-person classes: Understanding Birth, Understanding Breastfeeding, Understanding Infant and Child Safety, and Understanding Your Newborn.

Breastfeeding and Pumping 101 Class

This class will help you and your partner understand the breastfeeding process and increase your confidence in breastfeeding. We strongly encourage you to bring your spouse, your birthing partner, your mother or other supportive friend. This class offers more detailed information about breastfeeding than our childbirth classes.

Topics include:

  • Benefits of nursing for you and for baby
  • Getting started
  • Managing difficulties
  • Supporting the breastfeeding woman
  • Introduction to pumping and returning to work
  • Resources at Mayo Clinic and in your community


If you would like information for continuing breastfeeding long term, we encourage you to attend a "Breastfeeding and Returning to Work / School" class after your baby is born and closer to the time of returning to work or school.

All registered participants will receive a confirmation email within one hour after registering (be sure to check your e-mail junk folder if you don't see the e-mail in your inbox).  Please contact us immediately (phone: 507/266-7473 or email: perinataleducation@mayo.edu) if you do not receive an email.

PLEASE NOTE: Some dates of our Breastfeeding and Pumping 101 classes are being held via Mayo Clinic's use of the Zoom platform. Zoom classes are noted next to the dates below.


Additional information

Time: 9:00a.m. to 11:30a.m. / 6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.
Length: 2.5 hours
Fee: $ 20.00

Choose start date

Please log-in to your account to sign up for a class. If you don't have an account click here to register.

For information on registering, cancellation policy, payment policy, etc. please click here.

Day Date Fee Vacancies Map
Wednesday October 28, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 3 View
Thursday November 5, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 2 View
Tuesday November 10, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 2 View
Monday November 16, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) $ 20.00 12 View
Wednesday November 18, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 3 View
Monday November 23, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Tuesday December 1, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 2 View
Thursday December 10, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Monday December 14, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) $ 20.00 12 View
Tuesday December 15, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 3 View
Monday December 21, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 3 View
Monday January 4, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 Waiting List View
Tuesday January 12, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Thursday January 21, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Thursday January 28, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Thursday February 4, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Monday February 8, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Saturday February 20, 2021
(9:00a.m. to 11:30a.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Thursday February 25, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Wednesday March 3, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Tuesday March 9, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Thursday March 18, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Thursday March 25, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Tuesday April 6, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Monday April 12, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Wednesday April 21, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Thursday April 29, 2021
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View