Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic Perinatal Education

Login Signup

Alert

3/19/20: We are temporarily cancelling all Perinatal Education classes and Family Birth Center tours currently through the month of April. This decision is in line with precautions advised by the Centers for Disease Control to limit possible transmission of COVID 19 and to keep our campuses safe for our patients and staff. Mayo Clinic has taken a lot of precautions, and it is safe for patients to attend their Mayo Clinic appointments. We are reaching out to individuals currently registered for April offerings. Our apologies for this temporary inconvenience. Please call 507-266-7473 with any questions. Please note: We are still accepting registrations for the month of May and beyond.

Breastfeeding and Pumping 101 Class

This class will help you and your partner understand the breastfeeding process and increase your confidence in breastfeeding. We strongly encourage you to bring your spouse, your birthing partner, your mother or other supportive friend. This class offers more detailed information about breastfeeding than our childbirth classes.

Topics include:

  • Benefits of nursing for you and for baby
  • Getting started
  • Managing difficulties
  • Supporting the breastfeeding woman
  • Introduction to pumping and returning to work
  • Resources at Mayo Clinic and in your community


If you would like information for continuing breastfeeding long term, we encourage you to attend a "Breastfeeding and Returning to Work / School" class after your baby is born and closer to the time of returning to work or school.

All registered participants will receive a confirmation email within one hour after registering (be sure to check your e-mail junk folder if you don't see the e-mail in your inbox).  Please contact us immediately (phone: 507/266-7473 or email: perinataleducation@mayo.edu) if you do not receive an email.
 


Additional information

Time: 9:00a.m. to 11:30a.m. / 6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m. / 6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.
Length: 2.5 hours
Fee: $ 20.00

Choose start date

Please log-in to your account to sign up for a class. If you don't have an account click here to register.

For information on registering, cancellation policy, payment policy, etc. please click here.

Day Date Fee Vacancies Map
Wednesday May 6, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Tuesday May 12, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Monday May 18, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 5 View
Thursday May 28, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 2 View
Tuesday June 2, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Monday June 8, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 4 View
Wednesday June 17, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 7 View
Thursday June 25, 2020
(6:30p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 20.00 3 View
Monday July 6, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Saturday July 11, 2020
(9:00a.m. to 11:30a.m.)
$ 20.00 7 View
Wednesday July 22, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 6 View
Thursday July 30, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Thursday August 6, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Tuesday August 11, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 8 View
Monday August 17, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Wednesday August 26, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 8 View
Thursday September 3, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Monday September 14, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Saturday September 19, 2020
(9:00a.m. to 11:30a.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Wednesday September 30, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Tuesday October 6, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Monday October 12, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Wednesday October 21, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View
Thursday October 29, 2020
(6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m.)
$ 20.00 10 View