Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic Perinatal Education

Login Signup

Alert

9/16/20: Mayo Clinic’s Perinatal Education Program is still here for you providing education and support during this unprecedented time with in-person classes, virtual-interactive live classroom offerings on Zoom, and online eClass options. We are taking every precaution to ensure that the health and safety of our class participants and educators remain a top priority. New safety measures will be in place for in-person classes that include reduced class sizes, room arrangement that supports safe distancing, health screening of participants, and a requirement for everyone to wear a mask through the duration of the class. If you are currently registered for a class you will be contacted with further information. We will continue to offer the four eClasses available online if you choose not to take in-person classes: Understanding Birth, Understanding Breastfeeding, Understanding Infant and Child Safety, and Understanding Your Newborn.

Postpartum Connection

Postpartum Connection: Cultivating connections and confidence in the postpartum period

We are offering this new class with video communication technology through Mayo Clinic’s use of the Zoom platform. More information will be provided with your registration.

The purpose of this class is to provide support, encouragement, education, information and resources to help all families navigate through the transition into parenthood. The goal is to build social connections, receive emotional validation, and allow us to continue to partner with you through the joys and challenges that come with being a new parent. This time is facilitated by experienced registered nurses in Mayo Clinic’s OB department.
“Parenthood may be exhausting, but it doesn't have to be lonely.” – Kate Metten

Class topics may include:

  • Adjustment to parenthood
  • Physical recovery and activity in early postpartum
  • Breast changes for those nursing and non-nursing
  • Self-care and stress reduction practices
  • Postpartum Mood Disorders
  • Birth control options and when to return to intimacy
  • Newborn baby patterns and cares
  • Becoming a new parent during difficult times

Please note, every topic is not covered weekly. Discussions will evolve around the needs of class participants.

This is a weekly class offering that requires a registration for each date that you are interested in joining.

We recommend this class for postpartum parents from Birth to 3 months. Please register for class date(s) that fall between baby's birth and 3 months of age.


Additional information

Time: 12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.
Length: One class, 1.5 hours
Fee: Free, please register

Choose start date

Please log-in to your account to sign up for a class. If you don't have an account click here to register.

For information on registering, cancellation policy, payment policy, etc. please click here.

Day Date Fee Vacancies Map
Wednesday October 28, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday November 4, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday November 11, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday November 18, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday November 25, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday December 2, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday December 16, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday December 23, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday December 30, 2020
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday January 6, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday January 13, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday January 20, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday January 27, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday February 3, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday February 10, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday February 17, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday February 24, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 11 View
Wednesday March 3, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday March 10, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday March 17, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday March 24, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday March 31, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday April 7, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday April 14, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday April 21, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View
Wednesday April 28, 2021
(12:30p.m. to 2:00p.m.)
Virtual Class (Zoom) Free 12 View