Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic Perinatal Education

Login Signup

Childbirth Preparation: Prenatal Class - 4 week Series

We are now offering this 4-week series.

Come and prepare for the birth of your baby! This class helps families prepare for labor, birth and early parenting. Presentations, discussion, printed material, videos and hand on learning will help you understand the many aspects of preparing for your baby. The class is taught by experienced registered nurses. A tour of the Family Birth Center will be included.

Topics include:

  • Process of labor and birth
  • Comfort strategies (life skills - including relaxation and breathing)
  • Medical interventions and pain management options
  • Early postpartum care and adjustments
  • Newborn hospital procedures and health screenings
  • Newborn characteristics and basic cares

It is recommended that you register early in your pregnancy for this class.  We suggest you complete the class about one month before your due date. At the very earliest we need you to be at least 24 weeks along at the start of class.

If you are planning to breastfeed we recommend the Breastfeeding and Pumping 101 class. For first time expectant parents we also recommend the Infant Passenger Safety Class.

All registered participants will receive a confirmation email within one hour after registering (be sure to check your e-mail junk folder if you don't see the e-mail in your inbox). Please contact us immediately (phone: 507/266-7473 or email: perinataleducation@mayo.edu) if you do not receive an email.


Additional information

Time: 7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.
Length: Four weeks; one class per week, 2 hours
Fee: $ 40.00

Choose start date

Please log-in to your account to sign up for a class. If you don't have an account click here to register.

For information on registering, cancellation policy, payment policy, etc. please click here.

Day Date Fee Vacancies Map
Thursday September 5, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 Waiting List View
Monday September 9, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 Waiting List View
Tuesday September 17, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 3 View
Wednesday October 2, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 7 View
Thursday October 3, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 2 View
Monday October 7, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Thursday October 31, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Monday November 4, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 5 View
Tuesday November 12, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Monday December 2, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 5 View
Thursday December 5, 2019
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 7 View
Tuesday January 7, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Wednesday January 8, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 7 View
Thursday January 9, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Monday February 3, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Tuesday February 4, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View
Wednesday February 5, 2020
(7:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.)
$ 40.00 8 View